Volkswagen Enjoys Double Success At Rally Mexico: WRC 2014

Volkswagen has bagged the first and second positions at the Rally of Mexico, thanks to winners Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and runners-up Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila who fought against the extreme conditions to win the third round of the FIA World Rally Championship a.k.a WRC. While Sebastien Ogier was the first person to cross the finish line bringing Volkswagen a step closer to its 7 th victory in a row, Thierry Neuville managed to bag the first podium finish for team Hyundai. The most interesting fact about the Mexico round was that Ogier beat teammate Jari-Matti Latvala by more than a minute, securing the second win of the season which now moves him three points up his Finnish teammate. As for Hyundai the round was good enough. While Neuville brought the first podium finish for the South Korean major, his teammate Chris Atkinson managed to finish at the seventh spot in the i20 World Rally Car. FIA WRC RALLY OF MEXICO (4) The initial lead was taken by Mads Ostberg of Citroen, which was then lost to Ogier due to troubles on Saturday. After an aggressive performance on Saturday noon, Sebastien Ogier bagged two more wins on Sunday – taking the number of total victories to 14. Even Latvala performed really well on several occasions but after running into a couple of problems on Friday, the Volkswagen driver eventually lost a lot of time and finished second with a time of 1 minute and 12.6 seconds. Another interesting performance at the Rally of Mexico was given by Elfyn Evans of team M-Sport. While experienced drivers including VW's Andreas Mikkelsen and M-Sport’s Robert Kubica crashed out, the relatively new Elfyn managed to finish a career-best fourth in his Ford Fiesta RS WRC. FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), Rally Mexico – Final Results
01. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F), Volkswagen 4h 27m 41.8s
02. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN), Volkswagen + 1m 12.6s
03. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (B/B), Hyundai + 5m 28.6s
04 Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt (GB/GB), Ford + 6m 49.3s
05. Martin Prokop/Jan Tománek (CZ/CZ), Ford + 9m 54.4s
06. Benito Guerra/Borja Rozada (MEX/E), Ford + 12m 57.6s
07. Chris Atkinson/Stéphane Prévot (AUS/B), Hyundai + 15m 15.4s
08. Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN/FIN), Ford + 17m 06.8s
09. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson (N/S), Citroën + 25m 41.6s
10. Yuriy Protasov/Pavlo Cherepin (UA/UA), Ford + 28m 18.2s
FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), Rally Mexico – Power Stage Results
01. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F), Volkswagen 4m 34.2s
02. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN), Volkswagen + 1.8s
03. Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN/FIN), Ford + 4.9s

WRC Rally Of Mexico Image Gallery

[gallery columns="2" ids="21858,21857,21856"]