Toyota C-HR long-term evaluate

Can this Toyota hybrid put bums that don’t belong to fare-paying prospects on seats? Time to seek out out

Why we’re operating it: To find whether or not this sharply styled crossover is Toyota’s most interesting petrol-electric hybrid but

Month four - Month three - Month 2 - Month 1 - specs

Life with a Toyota C-HR: Month four

Hidden handles work properly with C-HR's appears to be like - 15th August 2018

I recall a automotive designer as soon as telling me that ‘hidden’ rear door handles on five-door hatches weren’t nice as a result of potential patrons may simply mistake the automotive for a much less sensible three-door and strike it off their want lists. Thoughts you, Toyota has performed a good job of constructing an fascinating design function out of the rear handles on the C-HR.

Mileage: 6089

Again to the highest

Life with a Toyota C-HR: Month three

Enhancing your gas financial system isn’t simple on an empty abdomen - 23rd July 2018

I believed I’d attempt to get an correct deal with on the C-HR’s gas financial system. You recognize what? I believe it has left me much more confused than earlier than as regards whether or not our hybrid Toyota is nice or merely good at gas sipping. Both that or my grade C in maths GCSE isn’t well worth the paper it's written on.

I attempted measuring consumption over a few brim-to-brim gas runs however they returned fairly totally different figures of 47.3mpg and 52.9mpg, regardless of each tanks of unleaded being expended over an analogous mixture of M3 motorway and concrete roads. Maybe it isn’t too stunning car that's regularly switching between two energy sources can return such diverse outcomes.

The chances are high that on a number of the journeys performed throughout my assessments, I might have been crawling alongside in heavy site visitors on the M3 and utilizing the electrical motor extra continuously, whereas on others I’d be zipping alongside at motorway speeds solely utilizing the 1.Eight-litre petrol.

The potential of very diverse gas financial system was emphasised once I made an impulsive sprint to the native takeaway very late one night. On the outward 1.2-mile journey, the C-HR recorded 73.2mpg; on the return, simply 56.9. No shock ) there’s an extended downhill on the way in which to China Backyard and b) I used to be famished and needed to get residence rapidly.

What’s clear is that site visitors circumstances, highway topography and driving model all contribute to getting the perfect out of the C-HR hybrid. Moreover, there’s nonetheless a level of guesswork concerned within the calculations, as a result of it’s very troublesome to gauge exactly how a lot gas is left within the tank. I’ve often been pumping in 33-36 litres. The C-HR hybrid has a 43-litre capability, so once I see the low gas warning mild, there’s a reserve of about seven or eight litres. Which looks like rather a lot.

By the way, the 1.2-litre petrol C-HR has a 50-litre gas tank as a result of it doesn’t want to create space for the hybrid system. As I’ve talked about in earlier reviews, I believe it's potential to overthink the deployment of the hybrid system. The fantastic thing about the parallel hybrid is which you can simply let it do its personal factor.

Since my final replace, we’ve geared up our C-HR with a dashcam. Not too way back, the numberplate of a automotive in my possession was cloned and I needed to undergo a tedious means of proving I wasn’t within the place the place the cloned automotive was at a sure time and date. On the time, a dashcam would have supplied clear proof that I used to be in actual fact the place I claimed to be.

The unit we have now is a Mio MiVue 788 Join, which retails for £179.99. It data in HD and has wi-fi and Bluetooth, so you possibly can obtain recordings to your smartphone by way of an app. It additionally has GPS monitoring, which logs your location and velocity. Putting in it was a easy two minute job and it’s a compact unit with a 2.7in touchscreen. It attracts energy from the 12V charging level and begins recording routinely if you begin the ignition.

Within the C-HR, the 12V level is within the deep cubby between the entrance seats, so the dangling wire is lower than excellent, however crucially it’s very easy to take away each the digicam and the bracket from the windscreen – one thing I choose to do at any time when I’m parking in public areas.

Adore it:

EV MODE LOCK Having the ability to lock the C-HR in electrical mode for brief spells at sluggish speeds is beneficial for parking and last-mile manoeuvres.

Detest it:

GLOSS BLACK DETAILING A day on the seaside involving kids, ice cream and sand highlighted how simply a number of the cabin supplies get grubby.

Mileage: 4906

Again to the highest

Life with a Toyota C-HR: Month 2

Inside trim fits the Toyota's exterior swagger, however... - 11th July 2018

I like the bizarre purple-ish textured materials contained in the entrance door. The within of the door itself is intricately styled, which is sweet, though it does imply a somewhat awkwardly formed cubby. It's as slim as a Mars bar at one finish however large sufficient for a water bottle on the different. On second ideas, maybe that's good…

Mileage: 4023

Again to the highest

Methods to channel your interior Jackie Stewart with out getting egg in your face - 4th July 2018

Now that the high-riding hybrid hatchback has been with us for greater than a month, we’ve been capable of topic it to some extra of the ‘actual world’ assessments that your common household automotive must address.

As you’ll be aware from the take a look at knowledge under, the typical gas financial system has taken a slight knock now that I’m pelting up and down the M3 on my commute 5 days per week. On these journeys, I’m relying extra closely on the petrol engine.

Clearly that’s the facility supply that the C-HR decides it must name upon for 70mph driving, however I’m at the very least partly in charge – being the particular person making the management inputs. I had hoped my driving could be sufficiently conscientious to tease the gas financial system up into the mid-60mpg area. I clearly have to turn out to be a scholar of Sir Jackie Stewart and his concept of driving extra easily by imagining you will have an egg betwixt the only of your proper shoe and the throttle pedal.

Then again, there’s an argument that parallel hybrids such because the C-HR are at their handiest if you don’t overthink and simply let it do its factor. That is very true on these brief journeys of the type that you just would possibly undertake at a weekend if you’re doing chores – journeys to the tip, the backyard centre or the grocery store, for instance. On around-town journeys of some miles, I’m relating to any return lower than an indicated 60mpg as a disappointment.

The aforementioned go to to the backyard centre for bundles of peat and bark chippings did spotlight that the C-HR’s boot has an awkwardly excessive load lip if you’re carrying cumbersome gadgets. True, it’s not fairly as troublesome because the Atlas stones take a look at within the World’s Strongest Man competitors, but when a producer is positioning its automotive as an SUV, as Toyota is with the C-HR, it must be totally adept on the ‘utility’ a part of that equation.

In an analogous vein, for the reason that five-door C-HR first arrived I’ve been sceptical about its generosity of area for rear passengers, however that’s confirmed to be a deception of its exterior styling, which is aimed toward a coupé-esque look. It’s fairly busy across the rear, with the roof and bodywork tapering in the direction of one another and the door handles built-in into the C-pillar. Our testers weren’t impressed by rear head room when the C-HR was subjected to our Street Check (four January 2017) however I just lately carried 4 passengers, with the three within the rear starting from a six-foot-plus, 15-stone bloke to an toddler in a carry cot, and none had purpose to complain.

Admittedly one may solely gurgle, however what these amongst them who may speak did be aware was wind noise. Maybe this can be a by-product of the automotive’s quiet powertrain making different exterior sounds extra noticeable. Extra probably, although, is that by developing with a form that's interesting to a large tranche of would-be patrons, and by jacking up the journey peak, the C-HR’s skill to slice via the air as effectively as its sibling, the super-slippery Prius, is diminished.

Wind noise or not, I’m taking an excessive amount of satisfaction from cruising alongside on electrical energy at any given alternative and enhancing the C-HR’s lifetime miles per gallon determine. You would possibly argue (with some justification) considerately pushed Euro 6 diesel-engined automotive would carry out simply as properly when it comes to frugality and that may properly be true for some drivers with lengthy and traffic-free commutes.

For me, although, there are 4 gnarly stop-start miles on the finish of my morning drive into Twickenham the place the C-HR doesn’t should depend on its inner combustion engine in any respect. I admire that received’t resolve the world’s air pollution ills by itself, however it does really feel like a small step in the appropriate path.

Adore it:

HOLD BUTTON Easy labour-saving machine routinely applies brakes if you come to a halt. Handy.

Detest it:

SAT-NAV WARNINGS Visitors alert obscures the display screen and doesn’t go away except you press ‘ignore’. Distracting.

Mileage: 3422

Again to the highest

Life with a Toyota C-HR: Month 1

Data onscreen nonetheless you wish to see it - 20th June 2018

Looking via menus that may be proven on the digital instrument panel, I found you possibly can select a g-force meter, ought to the temper take you. I doubt it's going to. Much less incongruous in a fuel-sipping hybrid is the graphic that signifies whether or not energy is coming from the engine or motor, or whether or not regenerative braking is sending power to the battery.

Mileage: 2213

Again to the highest

Welcoming the C-HR to the fleet — 13 June 2018

Toyota’s petrol-electric hybrid powertrains have saved it on the vanguard of electrified automotive expertise for the reason that creation of the Prius again in 1997, however the idiosyncratic character of that mannequin has been each a blessing and a curse right here within the UK.

Though many adopters have readily embraced the powertrain’s fuel-sipping potential, the Prius has struggled to be a automotive with ample kerb attraction for house owners to wish to present it off outdoors the college gates or the yoga class.

Positive, Matt Damon, Julia Roberts and their glamorous Hollywood pals drive them, thus bestowing on the Prius a sheen of A-list approval. However on this facet of the Atlantic, a gazillion minicab drivers use it, too — and, to the perfect of our information, ‘private-hire stylish’ has but to turn out to be A Factor amongst on-trend automotive patrons.

So the concept of wrapping the confirmed petrol-electric underpinnings in a boldly styled crossover physique appears to be a shrewd one, as a result of it provides Toyota a hybrid mannequin that faucets into the insatiable zeitgeisty thirst for barely higher-riding, rugged-looking automobiles.

They are saying it’s what’s beneath that counts, however possibly within the case of the C-HR and Prius it actually isn’t. Each are constructed on Toyota’s TNGA structure and each use the producer’s newest iteration of the petrol-electric hybrid powertrain, which options an Atkinson-cycle 1.Eight-litre petrol mixed with an electrical motor, driving the entrance wheels by way of an elasticky constantly variable transmission.

These aren’t the one hybrid automobiles in Toyota’s line-up within the UK; you may as well get the Yaris, Auris and RAV4 in such a specification. Of all of them, although, we expect the C-HR appears to be like probably the most dashing, particularly when completed in an attention grabbing metallic physique color like our take a look at automotive’s Nebula Blue (a £545 choice).

Prospects appear to agree. In 2017, the primary full 12 months on sale, 10,760 examples of the C-HR hybrid have been bought, establishing it because the model’s second-best-selling petrol-electric mannequin behind the Yaris hybrid.

We’re late to the celebration in welcoming a C-HR to our fleet, however we’ve not been unaware of its attraction. When subjected to our full highway take a look at in January 2017, it elicited a strong four-star score from our specialists.

Simply three variants make up the UK vary, two of that are powered by a turbocharged 1.2-litre petrol. The entry-level mannequin is front-wheel drive and has a guide gearbox, and there’s additionally a four-wheel-drive model with an computerized transmission. However the good cash — to not point out ours — is on the range-topping C-HR with the hybrid powertrain.

We plumped for a high-spec Dynamic mannequin, which begins at £26,100 and comes with 17in alloy wheels, a reversing digicam, computerized headlights and windscreen wipers, dual-zone air-con, Isofix factors and Toyota’s Contact 2 infotainment system, which is predicated on an Eight.0in tablet-style touchscreen built-in into the highest of the centre console.

With all that equipment as normal, we didn’t really feel the necessity to add any value choices in addition to the aforementioned snazzy paint.

There are three key the reason why I’ve been charged with operating our C-HR. First, 5 years in the past I ran an Auris Hybrid, so I’m properly positioned to evaluate how far Toyota has moved the sport on.

Second is comfort. This sort of low-hassle electrified powertrain, through which the engine, battery and motor are left to do their very own issues, fits my way of life greater than a pure electrical or plug-in hybrid as a result of I've nowhere to put in a charging level at residence.

Third, my diverse every day journey will give the crossover a good take a look at. It'll begin and finish within the C-HR’s city consolation zone, the place the slower speeds and start-stop site visitors frequently convey the quiet and easy electrical motor into play, however in between the automotive has to endure the M3, the place the petrol engine is known as on extra readily.

Can the around-town advantages of operating on electrical energy cancel out the necessity to use the inner combustion engine so continuously on the motorway? I’m fairly inspired by the early indicators.

Toyota’s claimed mixed gas consumption for the hybrid C-HR is 72.4mpg and the perfect I’ve tickled out of it up to now is an indicated 60.5mpg for my 43-mile commute residence down the M3. Nonetheless, I’m assured that even higher figures will probably be potential once I’m totally in tune with the driving model required to get the perfect out of the hybrid powertrain.

A dramatic enchancment over the Auris that I’ve already come to understand is the inside, which is a welcome change over the dour sea of black that greeted me within the hatchback. Full marks to Toyota for lifting the atmosphere with some daring color inserts and a few downright funky textures and prospers. I’ll select a number of the highlights in future updates.

I’m additionally happy with how good the C-HR is to amble about in. It rides and handles somewhat properly, with a wholly acceptable emphasis on consolation somewhat than any type of misplaced sporting pretensions, and it doesn’t really feel compromised by any weight penalty conferred by the electrical motor and battery pack.

An enormous thumbs-up up to now, then, not least as a result of no one has but mistaken me for a minicab.

Second opinion

A automotive of contrasts. Edgily aggressive in exterior design (I’m much less bought on the inside), but its hybrid powertrain most accurately fits a relaxed, calm driving model. Train self-discipline in not mashing the accelerator too typically and also you’re rewarded with a nice drive and respectable gas financial system.

James Attwood

Again to the highest

Toyota C-HR Dynamic Hybrid 1.Eight CVT specification

Worth New £28,695; Worth as examined: £29,160; Choices: Metallic paint (£545)

Engine four cyls, 1798cc, petrol, plus electrical motor; Energy 120bhp; Torque 105lb ft; High velocity 106mph; Zero-62mph 11.0sec; Claimed gas financial system 72.4mpg; Check gas financial system 56.7mpg; CO2 87g/km; Faults None; Bills None

Again to the highest