Porsche Unveils 911 Targa and Targa 4S At NAIAS 2014

At the 2014 North American International Motor Show that begins today, Porsche has expanded its lineup with two new models. Porsche has added two new models to its 911 range: the 911 Targa 4 and 911 Targa 4S. The 2014 911 Targa models are based on the original 911 Targa of 1965 and therefore are on the lines of the latter. However, under that classic design is a host of amazing technologies including the distinctive and innovative Targa roof bar technology.

The only difference the new Targa models have in comparison to the original Targa is the roof section which is movable and can be opened or closed at the push of the button.

The 911 Targa 4 is powered by a horizontally opposed 3.4-liter 6-cylinder engine that produces 350 hp. The car features the optional Porsche Doppelkupplung (PDK) and Sport Chrono package, together helping the car accelerate from to 60 mph in 4.6 seconds and achieve a top speed of 174 mph. The more powerful Targa 4S is powered by a bigger 3.8-liter horizontally opposed 6-cylinder engine which produces 400 hp. The 4S sprints from 0 to 60 mph in 4.2 seconds when equipped with optional PDK and Sport Chrono package. Targa 4S can reach a top speed of 183 mph.

2014 Porsche 911 Targa 4 and Targa 4S (13)

Both the Targa 4 and Targa 4S feature a wide body, Porsche’s all-wheel-drive technology and Porsche Traction Management (PTM).

2014 Porsche 911 Targa 4 and Targa 4S Prices

  • 2014 911 Targa 4:  $101,600
  • 2014 911 Targa 4S: $116,200

2014 Porsche 911 Targa 4 and Targa 4S Image Gallery